Bearcat scanner for aircraft

Started by Chris Kennedy, October 16, 2012, 08:57:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chris Kennedy

I'm not sure when this actually came out, but Uniden now has a relatively inexpensive portable scanner that receives both civilian and military aircraft frequencies. It's the BC125AT and it lists for $149.99. It looks like it's available for less than that though.

http://www.uniden.com/scanners/500-alpha-tagged-channel-bearcat-handheld-scanner/invt/bc125atg/

A brief review here:  http://forums.radioreference.com/scanner-receiver-equipment-reviews/235119-uniden-bc125at-first-impressions.html

Unlike a lot of scanners it does come with a cable to connect it to a computer for programming. I'm not sure if it comes with software though. You don't need to use the computer to program it anyway, it's just easier.

I don't have any specific knowledge about this unit, but I have been using Uniden Bearcat scanners for many years and they've always worked well for me.

If you are looking for a scanner that will also monitor local emergency services radio systems, this isn't it. It can't monitor the sophisticated digital systems that are used by most cities these days.

Like any scanner, a lot depends on what you want to use it for. For just aircraft, civilian and military, this looks good to me.
Chris Kennedy
Peoria, AZ

http://www.flickr.com/photos/chrisk48/

Images posted may not be copied or reproduced without permission

Jeff D. Welker

Thanks for making this post Chris. I have been talking about getting my own scanner for a couple of years now and I'm finally ready to get off the pot and make a purchase. I have a few follow-up questions:

1.  Do you find most scanners benefit from replacing the stock antenna? If yes, what do you recommend?

2.  What ear piece would you recommend for a handheld scanner? In my old age, I think hearing the transmissions clearly would be enhanced if I used an ear piece.